Lacking Creativity? Sleep!

IMG_6486

Pictured above is a building on Wimpole Street in London. I snapped this picture one week ago while I was abroad, and you might be wondering why I found this particular building worth taking a picture of. You see, in 1965, a man by the name of Paul McCartney was asleep in this house, when the next morning he wakes up with a tune in his head. Quoted from McCartney himself:

“I woke up with a lovely tune in my head. I thought, ‘That’s great, I wonder what that is?’ There was an upright piano next to me, to the right of the bed by the window. I got out of bed, sat at the piano, found G, found F sharp minor 7th – and that leads you through then to B to E minor, and finally back to E. It all leads forward logically. I liked the melody a lot but because I’d dreamed it I couldn’t believe I’d written it. I thought, ‘No, I’ve never written like this before.’ But I had the tune, which was the most magic thing.”

And just like that, the tune of “Yesterday” by the Beatles came to be! Give it a listen!

“Yesterday” – The Beatles

3 thoughts on “Lacking Creativity? Sleep!

Leave a comment